Some Thoughts On Disappointment

SOME THOUGHTS ON DISAPPOINTMENT  (Or Lack Thereof)

by Jerry Posner, The Posner Group

 

Does this sound familiar?

You have unlimited potential.

Imagine it … and you can have it.

You can have anything you want.

You create your own reality.

Allow the Universe to give you the abundance you deserve.

 

I say:

Maybe.

Under certain circumstances.

Perhaps.

Could be.

 

More practical:

You can increase the likelihood of success.

You can imagine things, think things and do things that are helpful.

You can have a lot of what you want.

You can make really good choices.

You can notice and appreciate the abundance you already have.

 

Can disappointment be fuel for improvement?

            Maybe.

            Under certain circumstances.

            Perhaps.

            Could be.

 

Perhaps you’ve said,

I’m disappointed because …

“I lost a job.”

“I lost some money.”

“I was lied to.”

“I’m not where I think I could be.”

“I didn’t get the love I deserved.”

“I was fooled.  Again.”

“I was rejected.”

“I was betrayed by a trusted friend.”

“My stocks crashed.”

“The restaurant got my order wrong.”

“It’s raining.”

“My butt looks too big in these pants.”

“My children don’t call me enough.”

“I don’t like the way I look.”

“I have to pay more taxes then I thought.”

“The salesperson was rude to me.”

“The jerk in front of me has 14 items in the 12 items or less line.”

 

Depending on my perspective, my state of mind, earlier events that day; I might feel …

Slighted.

Hurt.

Angry.

Pissed off to the max.

Annoyed.

Grateful to be alive.

Slightly uncomfortable.

Joyous.

Smart.

Compassionate.

Patient.

Weathered and beaten.

OK.

Motivated and inspired.

 

What can I do?

Nothing.

Something.

 

What Can I Learn …

about myself?

about my risk tolerance?

about my choices?

about my priorities?

about my sensitive areas?

about my patience, or lack thereof?

about my confidence, or lack thereof?

about my life, or lack thereof?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by 3latebloomers on May 30, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Great post! I stumbled across your blog while searching for material about late bloomers. Will definitely return. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

